Gulf Shores Restaurants

|

Menus

|

Reviews

|

Pictures

|

Voting

|

News

|

All Restaurants

|

Maps

Gulf Shores Restaurant.com for your dining and entertainment needs.
Gulf Shores Restaurants at Gulf Shores Restaurant.com Sign-up for the #1 newsletter for
restaurants in Gulf Shores.
Gulf Shores Restaurants   Menus   Reviews   Pictures   Editor's Picks   Restaurant Owners   Contact Us   


Hazel's Family Seafood Restaurant

25311 Perdido Beach Blvd.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Phone: (251) 981-4628

 

Click Here For More Information On Hazel's Family Seafood Restaurant



Restaurant Reviews for Hazel's Family Seafood Restaurant

we're not alone !


Dated:Friday August 23rd 2013 at 01:03:59 AM  
Reviewer: pat and kitty gordon from memphis tn. with IP: 184.41.30.153
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
2 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
glad to find this site...thought we were the only one's who found the food terrible ! in all honesty, we quite going there 3 years ago because it was so bad. we had a better meal for much less at original oyster house.

the first time, 6 years ago, it was new and we thought the buffet was great...later that week, not so good...well it was mid-afternoon on thursday, maybe an off-time. went back the following year...it was worse than the previous year...everything tasted the same, fried batter. the "gumbo" had a few vegs in it cut up bigger than my finger swimming in a burnt brown roux...everything was over-battered and WAY overcooked. the seafood casserole was canned tuna in stuffing mix.

i went back to the buffet to see if there was anything i'd overlooked and overheard the "cook" bragging/hittingt to a much younger female server that he did ALL the cooking !!! i wish he hadn't shown up for work that day.

TOURIST TRAP!!


Dated:Wednesday June 26th 2013 at 10:52:39 AM  
Reviewer: Steve Hopkins from Dickson, Tn with IP: 170.141.177.104
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
I came here with my wife and son along with his five friends for her birthday. She wanted a seafood buffet and this place just happened to be located across from where we were staying. When we first entered, the hostess immediately told us that the buffet was $25 and that if we wanted crab legs that was another $5. I don't mind paying the money if the food is going to be worth it. I wished I never came in. I could have gone to a fast food place or back to my house and got better quality food. I was hugely disappointed and should have known better to come in. I was wondering why it wasn't busy. The locals know to stay away which is why to me it's a tourist trap. For $25, the food should be fresh and not cooked frozen. Just to give you an indication of how bad the place is...this is my very first review of anyplace!

Horrible food and service!!


Dated:Thursday October 11th 2012 at 02:56:54 PM  
Reviewer: Connie from Nesbit, ms with IP: 166.147.120.28
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
2 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
We had a wedding party there on Oct 5th... The food we ordered was horrible !!!! The service we got was worse then the food..!!!! There are too many other places in the area to eat without having to put up with what we did... Find another place fast !!

Not a good place


Dated:Saturday June 9th 2012 at 03:40:57 PM  
Reviewer: Rocky Castaldi from Saint Louis MO with IP: 173.140.103.57
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
After arriving at the restaurant we were told that if you did not want the buffet it would be quite a wait time for off the menu items. Buffet did not look great so we ordered off the menu. Food was ok at best. I ordered the overstuffed oyster po-boy... I think they must have fallen out on the way to the table cause there was nothing overstuffed. They really push you toward their buffet by making you wait 45 minutes for the food. They really need to do something about this place. The only bright spot was the waitress was nice. not great but nice. I WOULD NOT GO BACK TO THIS PLACE!

historical


Dated:Tuesday May 17th 2011 at 01:45:11 PM  
Reviewer: chris from gulf shores with IP: 99.194.254.149
4 stars: Service
4 stars: Food
4 stars: Atmosphere
5 stars: Overall
hazels is a reminder of what the gulf coast use to be like and perhaps should remain like - as a local here for more than 25 years - it is often easy to become unsatisfied with our handful of options but in all fairness, hazel's is not a five star restaurant but a great southern family restaurant. their buffet is to die for... and heavens - they offer free ice cream... it's a child's haven, or mine one... since i love ice cream. the seafood seems to be fresh... it's always good. i've never complained. they have a killer breakfast! ask for charlie, he makes omelets that are one of a kind - just the way you want it! the staff - remembers my name & usually what i want to drink. that is a PLUS! the bathroom is clean... so you know the rest of the house is clean. hazels will most likely be here for many years to come. bad reviews on places like this make me laugh, it is what it is. good food for for real people.

Not what was expected


Dated:Thursday October 2nd 2008 at 09:30:27 AM  
Reviewer: Daniel from Ellijay, Georgia with IP: 99.194.170.146
1 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
Found this place on the internet. Very poor selection on buffet. Didn't have half of the items the internet said it would. Not at all impressed.

Bad experience!


Dated:Sunday August 3rd 2008 at 11:54:16 AM  
Reviewer: Sandra Freeman from Montgomery, AL with IP: 24.197.7.219
2 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
1 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
My family and I went to Hazel's after seeing an airplane banner advertising the "all you can eat" buffet. The whole dining experience at this restaurant was just horrible. There was absolutely nothing on the buffet that was appealing. The vegetables and bread reminded me of the bland food we used to get in our shool cafeterias. Almost everything "seafood" was fried, greasy, and overcooked. However, I was amazed at the way most of the other patrons were piling their plates high and pushing to get to the food. I know the restaurant has no control over how their patrons conduct themselves, but perhaps there would not have been so much pushing and greediness if the buffet was larger. We won't be back mainly because the food was not very good, but perhaps Hazel's can at least put in another buffet station or two to give people a little breathing room to make their selections.

Not the Seafood Experience Expected!!


Dated:Monday March 17th 2008 at 06:19:04 PM  
Reviewer: Julie Shockley from Dickson, TN with IP: 68.53.36.131
4 stars: Service
1 stars: Food
2 stars: Atmosphere
1 stars: Overall
Hazel's had a large sign in the window..."Seafood Buffet". Our family decided to try. The quality of food provided on the buffet for the price charged ($19 per person) was ridiculous!!! The crawfish you couldn't even open to eat as it seemed to be overcooked. Any seafood on the buffet was fried. The fried shrimp had three times more batter than shrimp and the quality of the shrimp was what you could buy from your local grocery store, not what you would expect from a gulf coast restaurant. A seafood buffet would lead one to believe that mostly seafood was on the buffet but it appeared to the contrary. Sadly disappointed with this restaurant choice and feel the money spent on this meal was wasted. Wished we had gone back to the restaurant chosen the night before and spent less money for a much better meal.


Tell a friend about this page!
Their Name:...
Their Email:...
Your Name:...
Your Email:...

Site Map Copyright © 2005-2018 GulfShoresRestaurant.com
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License.
Gulf Shores Web Design
Search Engine Optimization
by SullivanSiteSolutions.com

Dan Weatherford Sullivan | Create Your Badge
Page generated in 0.02 seconds, 20 queries